Booking Enquiry →

Need a hand?

Give us a call or email and we'll be happy to help.

+44 (0)1382 660 394

An Amazing Race at 2011 Malaysia Grand Prix

The Sepang International Circuit in Kuala Lumpur in Malaysia, played host to a sensational second day’s Grand Prix motor racing this season.

Sunday April the 10th saw Sebastian Vettel romp home to victory at the Malaysian Grand Prix.  This is the second year in a row the German driving ace has triumphed at this track. Vettel, a part of the Red Bull-Renault team completed the 56 laps in 1hour and 37minutes 39.832.

He finished ahead of Jenson Button, driving for McLaren, who was second place. Germany’s Nick Heidfeld in the Renault came third, while fourth spot was taken by the Australia Mark Webber in the Red Bull-Renault.

Ferrari took fifth and sixth place, with Felipe Massa from Brazil finishing ahead of his Spanish compatriot Fernando Alonso.

There was a somewhat disappointing showing for Britain’s Lewis Hamilton, racing for McLaren. He reportedly had some trouble in the later stages of the race, leading to him finishing in seventh position.

However, the Japanese driver Kamui Kobayashi with Sauber-Ferrari is said to have excelled himself to complete the race in eighth spot.

Unfortunately the former champion Michael Schumacher driving for Mercedes fell behind in ninth place. But a new, inexperienced driver, Britain’s Paul di Resta in the Force India-Mercedes came in tenth, earning a second Grand Prix championship point in the process.

The bad news for Hamilton continued after the meet, when race stewards handed him and Fernando Alonso 20 second penalties after a collision. This did not change the Spanish driver’s place on the finishing board, but Hamilton lost his seventh spot, switching with Kobayashi. This left the British driver in eighth place, behind his Japanese counterpart.

This is what the 2011 Grand Prix leader board looks like after two races.

POS    DRIVER            NATIONALITY                ENTRANT    POINTS
1.    SEBASTIAN VETTEL    Germany        Red Bull-Renault        50
2.    JENSON BUTTON        Britain        McLaren-Mercedes        26
3.    LEWIS HAMILTON        Britain        McLaren-Mercedes        22
MARK WEBBER        Australia    Red Bull-Renault        22
5.    FERNANDO ALONSO        Spain        Ferrari                20
6.    FELIPE MASSA        Brazil        Ferrari                16
7.    VITALY PETROV        Russia        Renault                15
NICK HEIDFELD        Germany        Renault                15
9.    KAMUI KOBAYASHI        Japan        Sauber-Ferrari            6
10.    SEBASTIEN BUEMI        Switzerland    Toro Rosso-Ferrari        4
11.    ADRIAN SUTIL        Germany        Force India-Mercedes        2
MICHAEL SCHUMACHER    Germany        Mercedes GP            2
PAUL DI RESTA        Britain        Force India-Mercedes        2

It is now onto the 2011 Formula 1 UBS Chinese Grand Prix in Shanghai. This incredible event is due to take place at Sun 17 April 2011 at 15:00 local time.

2011 Malaysia Grand Prix

The 2011 Grand Prix Formula Season is set to roll on this weekend in the smouldering heat of Kuala Lumpur.

This is where the second race meeting of this year’s calendar is due to take place. After a rip roaring opening race in Melbourne, it is now the time for 2011 Formula 1 Petronas Malaysia Grand Prix. The event will be held this Sunday, the 10th of April 2011 at 1600 hours local time. The track is the world famous Sepang International Circuit in the Malaysian capital.

The race is spread across a palm sweating 56 laps. And will cover every inch of the action-packed race distance of 310.408 kilometres and circuit length, measuring 5.543 kilometers. The current lap record of 1:34.223 is held by JP Montoya when he was driving for McLaren in 2004.

The previous winner, of the 2010 Malaysian Grand Prix, was the German champion Sebastian Vettel, driving for Red Bull–Renault Formula One. But by Monday morning we will know if he has retained his title, or if the king has lost his crown.  He faces tough competition from Lewis Hamilton; driving for McLaren, Tonio Liuzzi and Nick Heidfeld and the Russian Vitaly Petrov, from the Renault team to name but a few.

However, the veteran Michael Schumacher, driving for Mercedes, is still the most consistent winner at Sepang. He has been victorious three times in the past, having won in 2000, 2001, and 2004 with Ferrari.

This Sunday, the Sauber Team are looking to get over having been disqualified from the first race of the season in Australia for a technical breach. They

This is the leaderboard for the 2011 Grand Prix Season as it currently stands

Pos     Driver                 Nationality         Team                    Points
1     Sebastian Vettel    German                 RBR-Renault         25
2     Lewis Hamilton         British         McLaren-Mercedes    18
3     Vitaly Petrov         Russian         Renault         15
4     Fernando Alonso     Spanish         Ferrari             12
5     Mark Webber         Australian         RBR-Renault         10
6     Jenson Button         British         McLaren-Mercedes    8
7     Felipe Massa         Brazilian         Ferrari         6
8     Sebastien Buemi     Swiss                 STR-Ferrari         4
9     Adrian Sutil         German                Force India-Mercedes     2
10     Paul di Resta         British         Force India-Mercedes     1
11     Jaime Alguersuari     Spanish         STR-Ferrari         0
12     Nick Heidfeld         German             Renault         0
13     Jarno Trulli         Italian         Lotus-Renault         0
14     Jerome d’Ambrosio     Belgian         Virgin-Cosworth     0
15     Timo Glock         German             Virgin-Cosworth     0
16     Sergio Perez         Mexican         Sauber-Ferrari         0
17     Kamui Kobayashi     Japanese         Sauber-Ferrari         0
18     Rubens Barrichello     Brazilian         Williams-Cosworth     0
19     Nico Rosberg         German             Mercedes         0
20     Heikki Kovalainen     Finnish         Lotus-Renault         0
21     Michael Schumacher     German             Mercedes         0
22     Pastor Maldonado     Venezuelan         Williams-Cosworth     0
23     Narain Karthikeyan     Indian             HRT-Cosworth         0
24     Vitantonio Liuzzi     Italian         HRT-Cosworth     ““““0

F1 Grand Prix Season 2022
© Fugare 1 GP Limited, 2022.   Company No: SC312372.   Registered Address: 41 Dundee Road West, Brought Ferry, Dundee, DD51NB.
facebook twitter

All images and site copy are copyright of Fugare 1 GP Limited and may not be used in any way without written concent.

F1, Formula 1, Forumla One and Grand Prix are trademarks belonging to Formula One Licensing BV.