Need a hand?

Give us a call or email and we'll be happy to help.

call. +44 (0)7764 203 999


Season Draws To Close At 2011 Brazilian Grand Prix

The 2011 Formula One Season draws to a close this weekend and they couldn’t have found a better setting. The last race of the year takes place this Sunday, the 27th of November, at 14:00 local time. It is the carnival like Formula 1 Grande Premo Petrobras Do Brasil, otherwise known as The Brazilian Grand Prix.

This breathtaking event marks the 19th meet of the season. It will be held at the celebrated Autódromo José Carlos Pace circuit, in São Paulo. It is the biggest city in Brazil.

The track was previously called Interlagos when it first opened in 1940. But it underwent a name change in 1985. This was in memory of late Brazilian racing driver José Carlos Pace, who tragically lost his life in a plane crash in 1977. The track is now home to The Brazilian Grand Prix. The race lasts a stunning 71 laps, across a circuit length of 4.309 km. It is the perfect spot to decide the racing season.

This is how things currently stand. Sebastian Vettel is already champion. However the race for second place is reaching fever pitch. Britain’s Jenson Button, with McLaren-Mercedes is well on the way to securing Silver. However, Fernando Alonso with Ferrari and Mark Webber, with Red Bull-Renault, could still grab the 25 points they need to give him a run for his money.

Racing fans will finally find out who’s named runner up of the 2011 Drivers’ Championship. This will be the culmination of an action packed year of motor racing. They will experience the final race of an unforgettable Grand Prix season, in the blistering heat of Brazil.

The leaderboard as it stands:
Position Driver Country Team Points
1 Sebastian Vettel Ger Red Bull-Renault 374
2 Jenson Button GB McLaren-Mercedes 255
3 Fernando Alonso Spa Ferrari 245
4 Mark Webber Aus Red Bull-Renault 233
5 Lewis Hamilton GB McLaren-Mercedes 227
6 Felipe Massa Brz Ferrari 108
7 Nico Rosberg Ger Mercedes GP 374
8 Michael Schumacher Ger Mercedes GP 76
9 Vitaly Petrov Rus Renault 36
10 Nick Heidfeld Ger Renault 34
11 Adrian Sutil Ger Force India-Mercedes 34
12 Kamui Kobayashi Jpn Sauber 28
13 Jaime Alguersuari Spa Renault 26
14 Paul Di Resta GB Force India-Mercedes 23
15 Sebastien Buemi Ger Toro Rosso-Ferrari 15
16 Sergio Perez Mex Sauber 14
19 Pastor Maldonado Ven Williams-Cosworth 1
20 Pedro de la Rosa Spa Sauber 0

Share this article


Leave a Reply



F1 Grand Prix Season 2024
© Fugare 1 GP Limited, 2024.   Company No: SC312372.   Registered Address: 41 Dundee Road West, Brought Ferry, Dundee, DD51NB.
facebook twitter

All images and site copy are copyright of Fugare 1 GP Limited and may not be used in any way without written concent.

F1, Formula 1, Forumla One and Grand Prix are trademarks belonging to Formula One Licensing BV.