Need a hand?

Give us a call or email and we'll be happy to help.

call. +44 (0)7764 203 999


Webber Has Surprise Win At Monaco

The summer of shocks in the Grand Prix carried on from strength to strength, after this weekend’s pulsating Monaco Grand Prix. This result sees six winners in as many races this season. The 2012 Grand Prix has seen every meet this year have a different victor and now the Australian Mark Webber, with Red Bull Racing-Renault, can add his name to the list.

This is the second occasion, in the space of three years which Webber has won the Monaco Grand Prix. He started the race from pole position just as he had two years earlier, when he last won in Monaco.

It was incredibly close though. It is said Webber grabbed first place ahead of Mercedes’ Nico Rosberg by only half a second. Fernando Alonso, with Ferrari, came in third. Webber’s team mate Sebastian Vettel, who won in Monaco in 2011, finished this years’ Grand Prix in fourth.

It turned out to reportedly be a disappointing Monaco Grand Prix for the McLaren team. The hotly tipped Lewis Hamilton only finished fifth; despite having qualified in third place. Ferrari’s Felipe Massa, with Ferrari, was sixth.

McLaren’s Jenson Button had to retire from the race after colliding with Heikki Kovalainen.

Michael Schumacher, with Mercedes also had to retire. He had earlier made pole, but, following a grid penalty, had to begin the race from sixth place.

It was almost a case of hero turned villain though for the surprise winner of the last race in Spain. This time Pastor Maldonado, from Venezuela, was given a ten place grid penalty for driving his vehicle at Sergio Perez during the closing practice. It looked as if he crashed into the Sauber driver on purpose, to considerable outcry.

Share this article


Leave a Reply



F1 Grand Prix Season 2024
© Fugare 1 GP Limited, 2024.   Company No: SC312372.   Registered Address: 41 Dundee Road West, Brought Ferry, Dundee, DD51NB.
facebook twitter

All images and site copy are copyright of Fugare 1 GP Limited and may not be used in any way without written concent.

F1, Formula 1, Forumla One and Grand Prix are trademarks belonging to Formula One Licensing BV.